Entertainment.. spiritism

dreamstimeextrasmall_19652318I know first hand it is hard to avert spiritism. As I’m writing this blog, my friend is watching a suggestive spiritism film, and since I’m here, I am watching it too. Spiritism is one of the hardest snares to stay away from. I do a pretty good job at avoiding it, but I still get ensnared by it too.

The bible speaks clearly about spiritism; it says in Deuteronomy 18: “10  There should not be found in you anyone who makes his son or his daughter pass through the fire, anyone who employs divination, anyone practicing magic, anyone who looks for omens, a sorcerer, 11  anyone binding others with a spell, anyone who consults a spirit medium or a fortune-teller, or anyone who inquires of the dead. 12  For whoever does these things is detestable to Jehovah, and on account of these detestable practices Jehovah your God is driving them away from before you.”

A lot of my peers choice of entertainment today have a hint of spiritism; from when I was a child and everyone was watching That So Raven, who could see into the future, to now with Twilight, the never dying vampires with supernatural powers. It’s hard when I’m the only one in the room that objects to the horror film that everyone wants to watch at our movie night, and have everyone looking at me crazy because they wanted to watch it. Sometimes I’m am interested in seeing the horror movies too, which brings added pressure on me, but I know what they represent and the harm they can cause. So I do try hard to avoid them.

Television is not the only source of spiritism. There is also the internet, which is full of divination. One of the biggest snares on the internet is astrology aka horoscopes. Has anyone ever asked you, “What’s your sigh?” That’s a common question, isn’t it? Yes, I know. Horoscopes come up in daily conversations. When someone knows your sign they feel as if they know you. Friends, new mates and random people may all ask this question in hopes of gain a better view of you or your future. You may even research you horoscopes to get insight on yourself and to gain further insight in to your future. But what does the bible say? Leviticus 19:26 commands,  26  “‘You must eat nothing containing blood. “‘You must not look for omens or practice magic.” Astrology is a form of looking for omens, so if you want to please Jehovah it would be wise to stay clear from this common practice.   

The hardest time of year is Halloween for me. I’m in college, Halloween is a major holiday for us. Why? Its a time to dress up as whatever or who ever you want to be and have fun partying. Halloween is a day that worldly people unknowingly praise the demons. What does the bible say about this. 1 Corinthians 10:20, 21 says, ” 20  No; but I say that what the nations sacrifice, they sacrifice to demons and not to God; and I do not want you to become sharers with the demons. 21  You cannot be drinking the cup of Jehovah and the cup of demons; you cannot be partaking of “the table of Jehovah” and the table of demons.” Such things we have to avoid so we do not become ensnared. 

Leave a Reply

