Gossiping.

Proverbs 20: “19  A slanderer goes about revealing confidential talk;+Do not associate with one who loves to gossip.*” 

Did you know that the meaning of the name Devil is slanderer?  God named the wicked angel Devil, who told the first lie causing reproach on God’s name. Because of this, we know Jehovah views slander as a very detestable thing. In the scripture above, what did it relate slander to: gossip. Gossip is form of slander. The information that is spread in gossip might not be 100 percent accurate. This makes it a lie. When you go spending this information, it might hurt a persons reputation.

I know this for a fact. Being in college, it’s so easy to make and spread rumors. I remember when my roommate and I first became friends; my other friend had a lot of interest in my roommate’s personal life because my friend’s and my roommate’s boyfriends were friends. My friend ended up asking me questions about my roommate and pulled the friend-card to incline me to answer. I told her the answers to her questions and told her not to tell anyone.  A little more then a week pass since I told my friend about my roommate, when my roommate called asking me if I told my friend about her personal business. I told my roommate yes, and I was sorry I did not leave confidential talk confidential. I was embarrassed that I had revealed my roommates business and  angry at my best friend for spread the information I told her and spreading the information wrongly at all. What happened was: I told my best friend; she told her boyfriend; her boyfriend told my roommate’s boyfriend, and my roommate’s boyfriend brought it up to my roommate while asking her for answers. This situation ended up hurting my roommate and  damaging the trust between me and my roommate, and damaging the trust between me and my best friend.

The bible gives counsel about these matters saying in 1 Thessalonians 4: ” 11  Make it your aim to live quietly+ and to mind your own business+ and to work with your hands,+ just as we instructed you.”  So now knowing what I now, I take this counsel to heart and mind my own business; the best I can. 

Plus, gossip is not a loving thing to do. 1 Thessalonians 5 says, “11  Therefore, keep encouraging* one another and building one another up..” Gossips does not uplift your bother, therefore we should try to avoid it. “Let a rotten word not come out of your mouth, but only what is good for building up as the need may be, to impart what is beneficial to the hearers.” (Ephesians 4:29) So let us think the next time we think about spreading gossip because “Thoughtless speech is like the stabs of a sword.” (Proverbs 12:18).

Remember what the bible says in James 1:26 “If any man thinks he is a worshipper of God but does not keep a tight rein on his tongue, he is deceiving his own heart, and his worship is futile.” So heed the bible council and stay far way from gossip. 

Leave a Reply

