I have no witness friends.

I am an unbaptized aspiring witness. I have no witness friends so I have not given up any of my worldly friends. Not that I’m sure that I would make that sacrifice if I did have witness friends, but as for now that is my excuse.

1 Corinthians 15:33 “Do not be misled. Bad associations spoil useful habits.”

I am a witness to the scripture above. I know it is 1000% true. How? Because of last semester when I was on my solo dolo status and not really hanging out with anyone, I was more productive and more involved with my spiritual health. It was because my only  major influences was my dorm roommate, who never went anywhere and wasn’t a very social person, and my bible study conductor, who is a baptized Jehovah’s witness.  Now I’ve pulled myself so far anyway from Jehovah and its because I didn’t allow the right influences to lead me to flourish instead I allowed the wrong ones to lead my spirituality to wither. Last semester toward the end on the year, I gained a new friend. This semester I moved in with her and became exposed to more of the unrighteous way of life. She doesn’t know Jehovah so her decisions are more based off of what her and the world views as wrong and not what Jehovah our God views as unrighteous. Because of this, a lot of her morals are different. For example, she doesn’t believe that sex outside of marriage is really that wrong, even though the bible clearly states it, but since she, herself is doing it and the world is doing it; she views it as acceptable.

Romans 1:28-32 “28  Just as they did not see fit to acknowledge God, God gave them over to a disapproved mental state, to do the things not fitting. 29  And they were filled with all unrighteousness, wickedness, greed,and badness, being full of envy, murder, strife, deceit, and malice, being whisperers, 30  backbiters, haters of God, insolent, haughty, boastful, schemers of what is harmful, disobedient to parents, 31  without understanding, false to agreements, having no natural affection, and merciless. 32  Although these know full well the righteous decree of God—that those practicing such things are deserving of death—they not only keep on doing them but also approve of those practicing them.”

I’m not saying that all mankind that are not Jehovah’s people are wicked and Jehovah’s witnesses are saints. That is far from the truth because we all are imperfect. I am saying that many don’t strive to do what the bible considers is righteous. They don’t see the need to follow Godly instruction. They read the principles of the bible and say, “That’s how principles was viewed in that day and is not relevant to this time.”, “God knows everyone is doing it.” or “As long as your trying  living right, not hurting anyone, then you are living by God standards.” As you can see, “they not only keep on doing them but also approve of those practicing them.” What does the scriptures say, “That those practicing such things are deserving of death.”

That’s why you need witnesses as friends because they know Jehovah. They will keep reminding you of what Jehovah feels about worldly matters. They will not only keep you spiritually on the right track but also help you win the race to everlasting life.

Leave a Reply

