Bible principle: abstaining from sex before marriage.

Sex before marriage is a big deal in the bible. It is called fornication. Fornication is a form of sexually immorality.

The bible states in 1 Corinthians 6:18  “Flee from sexual immorality!* Every other sin that a man may commit is outside his body, but whoever practices sexual immorality is sinning against his own body.”

For those who don’t exactly know what sexual immorality is; it is a general term for all unlawful sexual intercourse. It includes adultery, prostitution, sexual relations between unmarried individuals, homosexuality, and bestiality.

I’ve been studying the bible with Jehovah’s witnesses since September of 2016. Up until the 1st of January of 2017 I was celibate for 5 months. That decision was partially for myself and partially for Jehovah. When the decision was for Jehovah it keep me on track. During 4 of those 5 months I was an everyday bible reader and prayer. I begged Jehovah to keep me strong and endure. Jehovah’s holy spirit did just that. When times got rough Jehovah never left my side.

I stop asking Jehovah for his help after a while. I had let my mind and heart get distant from Jehovah. I stop reading his word because I knew I wanted to do wrong. I felt like I couldn’t come to him in prayer because of what I was feeling. Then on the day after my 5 months celibacy, which I had prayed months earlier to get to, I committed a serious sin, fornication. How detestable I felt. I had let myself become consumed with harmful desires to the point that I felt not in control of those desires. I felt weak and forgot that with Jehovah you can overcome and conquer any battle.

How does God feel about sexual immorality?

I will answer this straight from the bible.

Well 1 Thessalonians 4:3 “3. For this is the will of God, that you should be holy and abstain from sexual immorality.”

Hebrew 13:4 says “4. Let marriage be honorable among all, and let the marriage bed be without defilement, for God will judge sexually immoral people and adulterers.

1 Corinthians 6: 9,10 “9. Or do you not know that unrighteous people will not inherit God’s Kingdom? Do not be misled. Those who are sexually immoral, idolaters, adulterers, men who submit to homosexual acts, men who practice homosexuality, 10. thieves, greedy people, drunkards, revilers, and extortioners will not inherit God’s Kingdom.”

Colossians 3: 5,6 “5. Deaden, therefore, your body members that are on the earth as respects sexual immorality, uncleanness, uncontrolled sexual passion, hurtful desire, and greediness, which is idolatry. 6. On account of those things the wrath of God is coming.”

Revelations 21:8 “8. But as for the cowards and those without faith and those who are disgusting in their filth and murderers and the sexually immoral and those practicing spiritism and idolaters and all the liars, their portion will be in the lake that burns with fire and sulfur. This means the second death.”

1 Thessalonians  4:4,5 “4 Each one of you should know how to control his own body in holiness and honor, 5 not with greedy, uncontrolled sexual passion like the nations have that do not know God.”

If you to are struggling with sexual misconduct here’s a link that might help Premarital Sex.

Leave a Reply

